Everything before anything - Storyletter #10

Hard work = dreams come true

Turning your passion into a craft that turns into a business?

Pinch me, because it’s been a crazy week, and it’s been so much fun. three workshops, visited four locations, forgot one bottle of wine in an Uber, took the wrong Uber, and went drinking with students, but more than anything, I got to write my story.

in today’s mail

  • Write before you do anything else

  • My dream is coming true. Join me?

  • I’m headlining SouthStart Australia

Thank you for getting us to a 55% opening rate on the last email. You are a huge part of my journey.
Nir Zavaro

Imagine, write, develop, launch

You may need to read this advice twice because it seems so simple: stop building and start writing.
Grab your pen and paper and start writing before working on your next project. Let your imagination run wild. When we start looking at the written words, we may come to the realization that, while expressing an idea may seem simple, writing requires more than just that. When we write, we understand the complexity, the hidden. We can truly visualise the problems and solutions.
Anyone can say, in a sentence or two, that they are going to run a marathon. However, writing and explaining about running a marathon will take a lot more. We will need to clearly articulate how many runs a week, the food regime, and the distances required for training. Suddenly, the big task turns into a checklist, things we can solve, and achieve. We can write a design for a new restaurant or a SAAS platform, before spending a dime on professional work.

Dreams become ideas, which then develop into plans and action items when we begin to dive deep into them. These are all going to be the things we build next.
Write your next plan before wasting time on building dumb shit people don't need.

IDEA TIME
Are you working on any ideas? Please feel free to reply to this email with a 14-word summary of your idea. Let’s see what you can come up with.

Forrest Gump Running GIF

❤️‍🔥Passion and work can align

My dreams are coming together, which is exciting on so many levels. Teaching is one of my greatest passions, and I have taught college classes for nearly a decade and in several universities. Writing books is part of who I am, and being an entrepreneur is an important part of my identity.

Last week marked a significant milestone for me when I was invited to speak to the first class of entrepreneurs to receive my book as part of their curriculum at the University of Georgia.

Speaking and signing books, having lunch with them, are just the beginning. The next goal, and this is where I need your help, is to get the book and method into 100 universities around the world by 2024, allowing young minds to improve their storytelling techniques. We are already getting closer to the first ten, and this is just the beginning.

If you are able to connect with a university or college, please respond and let's talk.

🥳 Happy to announce i’ll be headlining SouthStart Australia

I often say that my line of work is the closest i’ll ever get to being a rock star, seeing as I can’t sing and I ain’t that good looking. But opening the biggest tech festival in Australia might be one of the coolest things I get to do this year.

In this three day festival, everyone in the tech community will come together to meet, chat, interact, and learn. I’ll be speaking about storytelling and get to spend time in the village to meet everyone.

If you are in Adelaide for this event on March 5-7, ping me. I will also be speaking in Sydney and later that month in Singapore. DM me