Changes

Taking this with me into 2024

New year resolutions, right?

New Year's resolutions, right?

I know, I know, you have a list for January 1st, gym. No, scale your company or lose weight. Should you drink less? Should you write more?

For me, 2023 has been an unpredictable year on so many levels that I'm going to try to use the new year to get back on track and regain my bearing. This year has eternally altered me, and it will have an impact on everything I do from now on. Before we go into 2024, I thought I'd offer my thoughts on change.

In 2023, I realized that there are two kinds of change: those we generate and those that happen to us. The first sort of change occurs when we plan and prepare, even if we are hesitant or scared. It is more about confronting a difficulty and forming a habit. It’s about making a decision and repeating the action. The second type was usually unrelated to us until it was too late. The action or event has occured, now, It is all about how taking action in the face of the new reality.

We often utilize the end of the year to recall, cherish, plan, hope, begin, engage, grow, and look forward to the new year. A new year represents a new beginning, something to strive for.

My request for 2024 is that you write down your goals, whatever they may be. Whether it's to keep a journal, tweet every day, or run at least twice a week. Remember that success is in the planning.

Feel free to respond to this email and tell me about your hopes and dreams.

The second thing I want you to put down is how you plan to deal with a forced change the next time it occurs. How would you prefer to handle it? Write a note to yourself and keep it close at hand. It will help you deal with whatever life throws at you the next time anything happens.

Unfortunately, I, like everyone else in my country, had to deal with a shift that was imposed on us this year: war. What characterizes us is how we respond to change. A new reality, no matter how difficult, forces us to pause and consider the here and now, what is truly happening, and what must be done to survive. Life carries on anyway. Sad but true, so we must all learn to deal with reality, not how we feel or think, but what is actually happening and how we may get through it.

And it's difficult, at times unbearable, but you're strong. Recognize, adjust, execute, and move on. Surround yourself with people you can help and on whom you can rely. If you only focus on one thing this year, make it your community.

Have you written your goals?

Writing down our goals helps us think about them and visualize them. When we write them and add numeric goals, like days on vacation, weight loss, it becomes a clear goal

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Some stats from my 2023

  • I launched my third book - F*ck the Slides

  • It made it to #1 best seller on Amazon

  • Over 50 flights

  • I spoke in 30 different locations, from Australia to Brazil, South Africa to UK

Some plans for 2024

  • US tour: six cities in five weeks

  • Write my first children’s book

  • Launch my first online cohort

  • Start work on my next book

Let’s keep in touch

I will do my best this year to provide more value to this amazing group of readers. Feel free to reply with any questions. i’ll see you on the other side.